Home » Journal » A Not-to-Forget Three-Day Stay

A Not-to-Forget Three-Day Stay

For some reason, instead of writing new posts here, these days I chose to write more in my diary book. It had been very very long since the last time I wrote something there! I was too lazy turn on the computer, then open WordPress, then spending lots of time in writing a new post―maybe I’m too much like a perfectionist, but so far I can’t spent just a short time to write one post ;). My mood for blogging was not that good, so I changed my mind to spill my thoughts into my old diary instead of blogging them.

Anyway, I was just back from an unforgettable stay recently. This staying activity is called Pendewasaan. ‘Pendewasaan‘ itself is an Indonesian word, which means maturity. It is an annual activity held by my school, which is participated by grade six, nine and twelve. So as its name suggests, it is an activity where students’ independence are trained before proceeding to the higher level.

There is a difference between this year’s Pendewasaan with the last years’. If in the past years the activity took place at our school, this year it took place at the Center.

What made us have to come after the exams back then was for this activity’s sake. I admit I was a bit lazy to join this post-exams activity. I thought all exams were over, so why did we still have to come to school? I was chosen to perform a shou yu (hand gesture dance) with the other 18 students. Yet the non-chosen ones had no choice rather than practicing the singing.

And guess what? It was totally a wonderful experience! We went directly to the Center last Thursday morning. After getting to know our respective groups, mentors and rooms, we had a rehearsal for our performance. I was so tired, yet I found it difficult to sleep during the night. The same thing happened to the others. Seems we hadn’t get used to that place…

The second day was the busiest, I guess. It’s full of sessions about morality, health, self-image, cyber safety and cyber crime and more. These seminars were probably the core of this activity, since I learned a lot from them. Finally we all gathered and had some contemplation, before returning to our respective rooms.

Nothing much in the last day. After having breakfast, we had the closing ceremony―grade nine performed the last, if I’m not mistaken. The celebration was somehow like a graduation to me. Since it’s a real one instead of a rehearsal, I could feel a totally different atmosphere from what I experienced two days before. Our parents were invited, making the hall more crowded, so we had to avoid mistakes as much as we could. The ceremony ended and that’s all―everyone went home afterwards.

Now I can say I really can’t regret participating in this activity, since it gave me some sensation as a ninth grader :D…

Leave a Reply

