Home » Interests » After a Writer’s Block

After a Writer’s Block

Wow. It’s been a long time since I did my last post. Actually I’m still new to what is called blogging. And sometimes I was too confused about what to write :(…

A few days ago, I felt relieved as I finally continued my story after a quite long writer’s block, although it’s only in a small number of paragraphs. I’d started this novel when I was at primary 6. But I’ve never shown it to anyone. Speaking of that, I began to love writing narratives since about last year. Once an idea for this novel struck my mind, my handphone is my first aid―I quickly get it with me and type the contents of my new idea before I forget (to be honest, I’m quite forgetful :P). Then there goes the time when I transfer the notes filled with my ideas that I’ve typed on my handphone to the file in my computer. Currently, this story has reached its second chapter.

The abbreviation of its title is HSH and this is my first novel. I write this story in Indonesian, only that the title is in English. Before I was thinking that I would work on this idea in the form of manga. But then I changed my mind and turn it into a novel. The genres for HSH are comedy and drama, with a little mystery. It tells about a girl, approximately a year younger than me, called Ashley. One day in a weekend, for many times she’s tricked by her family, which consists of both her parents, her older sister, Kathy, and her younger brother, Rob. I was surprised that when I entered grade 7, I found out that the name of a new student in 7B is similar to the name of Ashley’s sister :D. So, for some reason, Ashley’s family tricked her until finally she became very angry. She could no longer put up with their weird but annoying behaviour, and then she went away and left the four of them.

Besides HSH, I’m also in the mid of my way in making a one shot manga, which I planned to be the first comic that I make seriously unlike when I was still small. So, when I was stuck in HSH, I leave it for a while and try to continue the one shot. I’ll be back to HSH again when I got another idea of what to write there.

I just realized that besides drawing, I love making stories too, both in the manga form and in the novel form ;).

5 thoughts on “After a Writer’s Block

  1. Oooh, a novel by you. That’s interesting! I can’t wait to read it, but if only you want to share it.

    I wrote my novel, Pretty X Cool and I stopped last month. It’s been a while since I wrote a narrative so I realized that my writing skills are plumping down. The story isn’t really well-prepared, so I half-decided to drop it out and start another novel.

    The first time I opened a blog, I was confused what to blog as well. Well, not really. I realize that now my blogging style is much more formal that my old one. I used to put nonsense emoticons in the titles, and now, they look so ugly to me.

    Anyway, good luck for your novel!

  2. Pingback: Slow but Sure « Snow Footprints

Leave a Reply

